Ash Wednesday and Works of Mercy

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, the beginning of the great season of Lent.

It is good at this time to renew our efforts to corporal and spiritual works of mercy.

The Seven Spiritual Works of Mercy are:

  1. To instruct the igorant
  2. To counsel the doubtful
  3. To admonish sinners
  4. To bear wrongs patiently
  5. To forgive offenses willingly
  6. To comfort the afflicted
  7. To pray for the living and the dead

The Seven Corporal Works of Mercy are:

  1. To feed the hungry
  2. To give drink to the thirsty
  3. To clothe the naked
  4. To shelter the homeless
  5. To visit the sick
  6. To visit the imprisoned
  7. To bury the dead

Read more